Skip to main content

Police and Crime Commissioner Elections 2024

Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) are democratically elected every four years.
The next scheduled election is due to take place on Thursday 2 May 2024.

A Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) is responsible for the overall conduct of the election in a particular area. Their roles include:

  • liaising with candidate and agents
  • collation of the election result following the verification and counting of votes

Neath Port Talbot Council has been appointed as the lead PARO authority for the South Wales police area. For further detailed information relating to this election and associated timetable please visit Neath Port Talbot’s dedicated PARO website.

The Local Returning Officer (LRO) for RCT is Andrew Wilkins. The LRO is responsible within the Council’s voting area for:

  • ensuring the election is administered effectively
  • the provisions of polling stations
  • the printing of ballot papers
  • the conduct of the poll
  • appointing polling station staff
  • managing the postal vote process
  • the verification and count in their voting area
  • transmission of the local totals to the Police Area Returning Officer

Who can vote?

To vote in the Police and Crime Commissioner Elections, you must be:

The deadline to register is midnight on Tuesday 16 April 2024.

Already registered? You will receive your poll card at the end of March.

If you normally vote in a polling station, your poll card will tell you where to vote and what times the polling station is open for voting. You can also search where your polling station is on the polling station information page

You do not need to take your poll card with you to vote

Voter identification

It is now a requirement to present an accepted form of photo identification when voting at the polling station for Police and Crime Commissioner elections.

For more information, including the types of accepted ID visit our Voter ID page

Postal voting

If you need to vote by post in this election, please visit the Electoral Commission website for more information.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote, or to cancel or amend an existing postal vote at this election is 5pm on Wednesday 17 April.

New postal vote handling rules

New rules have been introduced around handling postal votes:

  • there will be a limit on the number of postal votes a person can hand in at a polling station or at the council offices 
  • you will not be allowed to hand in more than five postal ballot packs for other electors plus your own (6 in total)
  • if a person hands in more than five postal ballot packs for other electors, all the postal votes (other than their own) will be rejected
  • anyone handing in postal votes will need to complete a ‘return of postal voting documents’ form
  • we can no longer accept postal votes left in the letterbox at the council offices
  • any postal votes which are left at any council building without the ‘return of postal voting documents’ form being completed will be rejected
  • we recommend that postal votes are returned to us via Royal Mail as soon as possible before polling day

Proxy voting

If you would like someone else to vote on your behalf at this election, please visit the Electoral Commission website for more information.

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote is 5pm Wednesday 24 April.

If after 5pm on the 24 April you find yourself unable to vote in person, due to medical or work reasons, you may be entitled to apply for an emergency proxy vote.

Please contact the Electoral Services team for further information.