

# CYNGOR BWRDEISTREF SIROL RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

#### COMMITTEE SUMMONS

C.Hanagan Service Director of Democratic Services & Communication Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council The Pavilions Cambrian Park Clydach Vale CF40 2XX

Meeting Contact: Claire Hendy - Democratic Services Officer (01443 4242081)

YOU ARE SUMMONED to a meeting of CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at the Council Chamber, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park. Clydach Vale, Tonypandy, CF40 2XX on WEDNESDAY, 16TH OCTOBER, 2019 at 5.00 PM.

Non Committee Members and Members of the public may request the facility to address the Committee at their meetings on the business listed although facilitation of this request is at the discretion of the Chair. It is kindly asked that such notification is made to Democratic Services by Monday, 14 October 2019 on the contact details listed above, including stipulating whether the address will be in Welsh or English.

## AGENDA

Page No's

## 1. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

To receive disclosures of personal interest from Members in accordance with the Code of Conduct

Note:

- 1. Members are requested to identify the item number and subject matter that their interest relates to and signify the nature of the personal interest: and
- 2. Where Members withdraw from a meeting as a consequence of the disclosure of a prejudicial interest they must notify the Chairman when they leave.

#### 2. MINUTES

To receive the minutes of the previous meeting of the Children and Young People Scrutiny Committee held on 11<sup>th</sup> September 2019

# REPORTS OF THE DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION AND INCLUSION SERVICES

#### 3. SCHOOL ATTENDANCE STRATEGY 2018 -21

To receive an update in respect of the School Attendance Strategy (2018-21)

11 - 34

#### 4. URGENT BUSINESS

To consider any items, which the Chairman, by reason of special circumstances, is of the opinion should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency

#### Service Director of Democratic Services & Communication

#### **Circulation:-**

The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Children and Young People Scrutiny Committee (County Borough Councillor S. Rees-Owen and County Borough Councillor W Lewis respectively)

#### **County Borough Councillors:**

Councillor S Evans, Councillor J Brencher, Councillor H Fychan, Councillor A Calvert, Councillor S Powell, Councillor M Powell, Councillor H Boggis, Councillor M Griffiths, Councillor G Jones, Councillor G Stacey, Councillor M Diamond and Councillor A Davies-Jones

#### **Co-Opted Members:-**

Mr M Cleverley, Representing NASUWT and Teachers' Panel Mr J Fish, Voting Elected Parent / Governor Representative Ms A Jones, Representing UNITE Mr C Jones, Representing GMB Mrs C Jones, Representing the National Union of Teachers and Teachers' Panel Mr D Price, Representing UNISON Mr A Rickett, Voting Diocesan Authorities' Representative Mr Kevin Wilhite, Voting Elected Parent / Governor Representative Mrs R Nicholls, Voting Elected Parent / Governor Representative